Newly Elected Members of the National Executive of Medical and Health Workers Union of Nigeria

Press Statement

Newly Elected Members of the National Executive of Medical and Health Workers Union of Nigeria

At the 11th quadrennial national delegates conference of the Medical and Health Workers Union of Nigeria held from the 4th to the 9th of March 2024 at the NAF Conference Centre, Abuja, the following members of the union were elected into positions listed before or after their names:

1). National President : Kabiru Ado Sani Minjibir.

2). Deputy National President : Goodluck Ofobruku.

3). National Vice Presidents:
a). Sunday Adetula, South-West;
b). Satomi Hikama, North East;
c). Husseini Hamisu Yanduna, North West;
d). Saheed Muritala Olayinka, North Central;
e). Ogbonnaya Okoro, South-East;
f). Barnabas C. Simon, South-South.

4). National Treasurer : Chinwe Orizu.

5). National Trustee : Olufemi Adebisi.

6). National Publicity Secretary : Dennis Nyam.

7). National Auditors
a). Olusegun Siwoke;
b). Yusuf Inuwa.

8). NEC Members:
a). Olalibo Tubotamuno Gogo Kingsley, South-South;
b). Fidelis Ngwam, North Central;
c). Tinuke Sobowale Daini, South-West;
d). Aminu Ikara, North-West;
e). Ibrahim Mohammed, North-East;
f). Eze Emmanuel, South-East;
g). Jude Ugwoke, South-East;
h). Jawali G. Mohammed, North-East;
i). Abdullahi Aliyu Jangle, North-West;
j). Benedict Ukpepi, South-South-South;
k). Adekunjo Folashade Juliana, South-West;
l). Aisha Abdullahi Erena, North-Central.

In pursuance of the provisions of the constitution of the union, they are to serve in these positions for the next four years.

They have since assumed office after being sworn in in accordance with the provisions of the constitution of the union.

The Medical and Health Workers Union is one of the biggest affiliates of the Nigeria Labour Congress.

Comrade (Dr) Kabiru Ado Sani Minjibir, a highly principled Labour Leader who emerged as the new President of the Union is Deputy President of the Nigeria Labour Congress.

Previously he was Chairman of both MHWUN and NLC in Kano State where he distinguished himself as a hard-fighting, reliable and dependable trade union leader, winning the trust and accolades of his coĺleagues as well as the respect of the social partners.

Born in 1970 in Minjibir town in Kano State, Comrade (Dr) Kabiru Ado Sani Minjibir had his Junior Secondary at Minjibir, a stint at Teachers College, Minjibir before proceeding to Science Secondary School, Dawakin Tofa from where he enrolled at the School of Health Technology specialising as a Pharmacy-Technician.

Kabiru Ado Sani Minjibir obtained an Advance Diploma in Public Administration at Bayero University before proceeding to the Kano State Polytechnic from where he obtained a HND in Public Administration. Eager for more academic laurels, Kabiru Ado Sani Minjibir went back to Bayero University for his post-graduate Diploma and Master’s degree in Public Policy and Administration.

He has attended courses both in Nigeria and abroad including the U.S., Japan, UK, Namibia, Malaysia etc.

A self-effacing leader, Dr Kabiru Ado Sani Minjibir was turbaned Magayakin Minjibir on March 19, 2011 by His Royal Highness, the Emir of Kano, the late Alhaji Ado Bayero through the District Head of Minjibir.

Comrade Kabiru is the National Chairman of JOHESU, the umbrella body of unions in the health sector.

He is married with children.

The above is for your information, noting or reporting as the case may be.

Benson Upah
Head of Information and Public Affairs